Featured Author of the Day: Kelcey Kintner

Kelcey Kintner has worked in the White House, spent years as a TV reporter/anchor and earned a graduate degree in journalism from Columbia. She even once lived in Montana where she had to drive three hours just to find sushi. But nothing has ever kicked her bum like motherhood.

Kelcey has four children (including newborn twins) and tries to embrace the chaos while finding time for her husband, a TV news anchor.

Kelcey is the creator and writer of The Mama Bird Diaries, a smart, funny and always unpredictable take on life as a New York mother.  She is also one of the co-founders and a weekly contributor for The Mouthy Housewives, a humor advice site.

Kelcey has been published in the Miami Herald, the News & Observer, the Modesto Bee and other newspapers across the country. She has also been featured on Good Morning America, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, The Washington Post’s On Parenting blog, The New York Times Motherlode blog and Cookie Magazine. She spoke at the 2009 and 2010 BlogHer conferences on humor and advice writing.

Kelcey used to be addicted to yoga. But now she’s addicted to her Blackberry, Peppermint Patties and “Project Runway.” She’s hoping yoga makes a come back. 

Q: How did you get into writing?

A: I sort of stumbled into the field of journalism. I was planning on going to law school when on a whim, I applied to Columbia’s journalism program. When I was accepted, I immediately knew I would never be taking the bar exam.  Journalism just sounded so interesting to me. I spent many years as a TV reporter and I loved all the different kinds of people I had the chance to meet and all the stories I was able to cover. But after 9-11, something changed for me. So much of TV news is focused on negativity and I wanted to be more of a positive force in the world. I had to change my life in some way. I wanted to stop telling other people’s stories and start telling my own. So three years ago, I started a humor blog, The Mama Bird Diaries.

Q: Why did you decide to get involved in this project? 

A: I just feel so lucky that I get to be a part of it.  I have the chance to share my writing and the funny side of parenting, all while benefiting children’s charities. What an amazing opportunity!

Q: What are you working on next?

A: I’m working on trying to get my 3 month-old twins to sleep through the night. Oh, you mean writing wise. Right now, I’m focused on my humor blog, The Mama Bird Diaries and my humor advice blog, The Mouthy Housewives. And yes, trying to get my four children to sleep more and cry less.

This entry was posted in Featured Author Series. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

