Featured Author of the Day: Lisa Ricard Claro

On today’s Featured Author Series, we have Lisa! 

Lisa Ricard Claro is a freelance writer living in the Southeastern United States with her husband of thirty years.  They share three kids, two dogs and two cats, all spoiled.  Lisa’s articles and stories have been published in the newspaper, online, and in multiple anthologies.  When not writing she enjoys family time, visiting with friends, reading, and thinking about what to write next.  Lisa is a member of the Georgia Writers’ Association, SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators), and she is a featured blogger at Vibrant Nation (www.vibrantnation.com).  For more of Lisa’s writing please visit her personal blog, Writing in the Buff at www.writinginthebuff.net or drop her a line at lisaricardclaro@bellsouth.net.

How did you get into writing? 

I have been writing ever since I can remember, but did not pursue publishing until a few years ago.  Since then, I haven’t looked back.  I love the whole process of writing, even the editing.  The payoff comes when someone reads my work and sends a comment to tell me that what I have written touched them in some way, whether it is something sentimental or humorous. I love that connection.

 Why did you decide to get involved with this project?  

All I knew at first was that the proceeds would go to charity, and that was good enough for me.  Later, when I learned that St. Jude’s was one of the beneficiaries I was thrilled, as they are my personal charity of choice.  It dovetailed for me, and I am thrilled to be included in this project.

What are you working on next? 

I always keep a few irons in the fire and have several memoir pieces submitted and a few others in process, as well as various articles and stories.  I am working on a young adult novel, still in the early stages; and I have a women’s fiction novel in the editing/rewriting phase.  And, of course, I update my blog (Writing in the Buff  at www.writinginthebuff.net ) several times a week.  Please check it out!

This entry was posted in Featured Author Series. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

