Featured Author of the Day: Lori Garcia

Up today on our Featured Author series is Lori Garcia! 

Lori is a 30-something southern California native.  She received her Bachelor’s degree in Child Development from California State University, Fullerton with plans to become an elementary school teacher.  Following graduation, Lori took a detour from the field of elementary education and began a career in the defense industry she is proud to have continued to this day.  Married for 11 years with 2 precocious sons, ages 2 and 7, Lori launched www.mommyfriend.com in January this year as a place to share true tales of motherhood and mayhem.  Illustrated by her husband and inspired by her children, Mommyfriend is a family affair.  Filled with humor and heart, Mommyfriend is dedicated to finding perfection in imperfection daily.  Lori’s interests include reading great blogs, writing great blogs and spending time with family and friends. 

We chatted with Lori and asked her a few questions. 

Q: How did you get into writing?

A: Writing has been my creative outlet for as far back as I can remember.  I was active in advanced writing classes throughout my education and spent the better part of my 20’s attempting to write deep poetry.  My pregnancy journals introduced me to the blogosphere and the joys of writing for an audience.  Once my sons arrived I wanted to keep the dialog going with my fellow mothers and www.mommyfriend.com was born.  As a new mother I often felt isolated and insecure regarding my maternal abilities and with Mommyfriend I strive to put it all out there; the triumphs, the lessons and the truth about motherhood.  There is always more to say and share, writing allows me to give life to my experiences.

Q: Why did you decide to get involved with this project?

A: When I learned about Write for Charity and their incredible mission, I just had to get involved.  Contributing to this beautiful anthology combined my passions for writing, charity and children into something of tremendous worth.  Writing with purpose is tremendously gratifying and I am honored to be part of Write for Charity’s mission as a contributing author.  Together, great things are possible.

Q: What are you working on next?

A: I am working to continue Mommyfriend’s mission by writing relevant content that offers comfort, support and plenty of laughs.  With the help of my Mommy Friends, I’d like to continue supporting causes that benefit children in need.  Pay us a visit at www.mommyfriend.com and welcome to our family!

We thank Lori for her contribution and are looking forward to seeing the Mommyfriend site grow and prosper.

This entry was posted in Featured Author Series. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

